TV time: “Anne with an “E””

I am back with another review/discussion. This time it is the original Netflix TV series “Anne with an E”.

“ANNE WITH AN E”
/Netflix original/mv5bodu0zjdmmzgtnzm3oc00mgm2lwjjngutyjfizja1otm0nzk1xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynta0mdewmja-_v1_

Starring: Amybeth McNulty, Geraldine James, R.H. Thomson, Dalila Bela and more..
Release date: March 19, 2017 (Canada)

Summary of the plot:
Siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthberts decide to adopt a boy who could help them with chores, but instead of a boy they get a girl. She has to prove that she can be useful, get friends and fit in the Green Gables.

Photo: “Anne with an E” IMDB page

          The series are made after the book “Anne of Green Gables” by L.M. Montgomery, and the book is known by many-many people… except for me. I didn’t have nor I read the book when I was little (nor saw the movie), so for me this was a completely new story and experience and the first time I am introduced with Anne Shirley and the Green Gables.

But one thing I know for sure, I will buy this book when I see it and I will keep it until I have my own little girl who will read it and love it.

          I was only 7 minutes in the first episode and Amybeth has already proven herself in all the different ways and perspectives that there are for an actress to give to the audience. I was completely in love with how she takes the character and gives her life by making Anne’s character real and wonderful. She is a wonderful actress, human being and I will never stop  adore her. She is simply – divine.

          The series has everything  – it makes you laugh, makes you smile, makes you feel sad for a character(s), makes you cry because of that sadness and cry because of the happiness. Basically you get the full emotional rollercoaster and that is what every good television series needs to offer its audience.

          Now a little bit from the technical side..
     I really love the cinematography. The way the series are shot – almost like a documentary. It makes the audience feel closer, since there is not even a bit of fiction or  any other “artificial” genre (I’m sorry I used that word, but I think you may understand my point), it gives the series a sense of reality and more importantly – the reality of the past. Personally I really love when the narrative takes place in a different time period than the one I am living in. It makes me remember my childhood when we didn’t have computers, nor phones, nor the internet (also I am not that old, I am 21 by the way, we just didn’t have those in our family 😀 ). It makes me very nostalgic about the past and at the same time very interested about the life back then. Watching the series made me think about how would it be if I didn’t use internet, computer and phone. I’d probably be more productive and even a bit smarter 😀 .

     Back to the subject.. the series are shot very good, qualitative and it is very satisfying to the eye to watch. It has great close-ups, medium shots and full shots. I am always a fan of great establishing shots. I won’t get more into the technical business because I watched it a few months ago, and didn’t write down a lot about this (I actually started the draft for this post in the middle of May and today I finally got the time and full inspiration to continue and finish).

mv5bndnhy2fknwytndflns00n2jjltg1zdatmzg0mzdhmtcxmdi5l2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyntc1ntcxodm-_v1_

 

IMDB rating: 8,7/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Rotten Tomatoes rating: 7,78/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
MY RATING: 9,1/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

 

That is everything for the non-spoiler part 🙂
[Thank you non-spoiler readers :*]

FURTHER ON: A SPOILER!!!

          I don’t want to spoil much, this is not a movie, and honestly, I started to write this in my notebook after I finished all the episodes, so I cannot speak for each episode. But I can speak of one great moment. 
          The moment when I cried of joy was the moment when for the first time Anne wore the dress she had always wanted to have –  with puff sleeves. That was the most important moment of Anne’s life and one of the important moments in the series. It was divine, and I am much obliged for it.

 

Tell me your impressions in the comments!
Until the next time!

The Butterfly Girl

All the used photos: “Anne with an E” IMDB page

 

 

Leave a Reply

