Movie Monday: “MOANA” (2016)

         Another Monday is here, whether we like it or not, but the good thing is that it is a Movie Monday! Without any further ado, let’s get to it!

“MOANA”
/Disney/mv5bmmzkzwiwytmtztnjzc00ndu4ltkyywytzjizywuynme1mmjhxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynjuxmjk0mtm-_v1_

Directed by: Ron Clements, Don Hall, John Musker, Chris Williams
Starring: Auli’i Cravalho, Dwayne Johnson, Rachel House, Nichole Scherzinger and more.. (and Alan Tudyk as the chicken Heihei) 
Release date: 23 November, 2016

Photo: “MOANA” IMDB page

         First I want to say how amazing and beautiful is the picture! It is incredibly beautiful – the colours, the views… the animators have done yet another incredible job. I will never stop saying how much I adore them and how much I am impressed with the work the animators do. It is real magic. All the action animations are done so realistically, for example the hair. They paid a lot of attention as they wanted to make the hair in this movie to be more realistic that did add this great detail to the film. 

         Music. Another thing that is too good to even compliment. A lot of you may know, the amazing man behind the music – Lin-Manuel Miranda. The same Lin-Manuel, who comes from the New York’s “In the Heights” and “Hamilton: an American Musical”. I don’t think I have to even say more. 😀 Except, if You are not familiar with Lin’s work, then, don’t worry cause if You haven’t seen this movie, then You will get to know his music, but if You already saw it – can You agree with me that it is amazing?!

         I really love how Disney is bringing strong woman to the scene. Even I sometimes have to get that reminder and push that girls are strong and they can do whatever their heart desires. Little girls definitely need this and they need to know how amazing it can be and how many great things in the future they can do just by believing in themselves.

         “Moana” has everything: there is family love, there is adventure, great music, sidekicks and humor. It is definitely a movie that everyone will love (or just like) no matter what age they are. Plus, it is very cool to hear Dwayne Johnson in a Disney movie AND singing! He is an incredible guy. 🙂

mv5bytlmmmq5mjgtzthjzi00nmyxltk5otktytfjy2i3ntazywywl2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymzexmzk5mtq-_v1_

IMDB rating: 7,7/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Rotten Tomatoes rating: 7,9/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
MY RATING: 8,9/10 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thank you for those who read the non-spoiler part! You can read further now if you have seen the movie or you don’t really care for spoilers….
So basically – the next part comes with spoilers! Warning!

         I don’t have much written down… I guess that’s because this time I was very into the movie. (Next time I will take more notes, I promise 🙂 )

But there were some moments that I remember very well and want to discuss:

At the beginning at the movie, there was a scene where little Moana helps the turtle, sees a sea shelf and.. ahh that was toooo adorable!!! ❤ ❤ ❤
Maui and his mini tattoo friend relationship is so great, that brings another kind of humor to the movie. AND a great challenge to the animators, who, forgive me about repeating, did a wonderful job.
The scene after the credits was wonderful, and it was totally all Lin. No doubt. Sebastian HAD to be mentioned and I enjoyed that VERY much (If you don’t know, Lin’s favourite Disney character is Sebastian from “The Little Mermaid” AND he named his son after him).
I have a feeling that this could be a great… “MOANA: The Musical” ..hehe! Am I right, Lin?! *wink!*

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

         I think that is all about “Moana”. I watched it a few weeks back, finally got the strength to write about it, so excuse me, but You can definitely write your thoughts and favourite moments from the film in the comments and we can keep the discussion going!

Until the next time!

The Butterfly Girl

All the photos are from “Moana” IMDB page.

Leave a Reply

