Movie Monday: “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

          Movie Monday is going to be like a “segment” where you will find movie reviews. I will write about new movies and old movies. But.. Movie Monday is going to be unpredictable, which means that I don’t know when the next Movie Mondays are going to happen.
          It’s been two months since “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” premiered, and finally I got myself together and watched it.
(Also, tickets to the movie theater cost such a fortune, so I always wait until I can watch the movie online.)

          First I will share the general thoughts about the movie, and after that there will be a lot of spoilers, so if you have seen it or you don’t care about the spoilers – feel free to read and know, but if not, then come after you watched it. 🙂

None spoilers:
J.K.Rowling and David Yates make such a great team. The movie is so appealing to the eye, there are so many small details worked out, the special effects look so good, and the adorable creatures look so nice and real. I really like how at the beginning the colors are light and cheerful and so nice, and through the whole movie it changes to dark and then back to the lightness.

Eddie Redmayne is SO AMAZING. He brought Newt to life so well, Eddie’s performance is very well worked out. I like how he made Newt kind of shy, but not too shy when it comes to what he does and what he believes in. The rest of the cast is very good as well. They brought their performances to the top. To be honest, before this movie I’ve only been familiar with Eddie and Ezra Miller.

The last thing in this none spoiler part is music. Like every Harry Potter movie, this one also starts with a little bit of the old familiar Hedwig’s theme which brings back the memories of the Harry Potter movies. It just makes you smile and a little emotional. Later on we hear (what I think is) new music, that is more accurate to the time the movie sets in and gives it a whole new life to it.
Oh! The wizard-fight scenes where pretty cool!


The part with spoilers!
Both – at the start of the movie and at the end of the movie, it got me thinking.. why to take a ship to America/England if you can do the apparition (teleportation). Maybe it is not good between continents, I don’t know, but it seriously made me question about using a ship.

I really liked how Newt is introduced. At first (yeah we know who he is.. but) he is this traveler who seems like he has a secret, and then suddenly he invites us to see his world just like he invites Kowalski in his case. And that world just surprises and it doesn’t stop surprising.

There were a few things that I predicted would happen, like switching up the cases. I thought they’ll switch them before they go into the bank. It made sense when they switched them up later in the movie which, as we all know, played a big part in the whole story. Also I kind of knew that the boy is the one they are looking for, but I wasn’t sure until I had more proof. I am pretty sure that everyone kind of knew that.

Dinner scene – it was so cool and I want to be able to do that as well.. AND – I would die for that umbrella. That is a very cool improvement.
There was one part in the movie where I had a pretty good laugh at, it was when Newt opened his case and walked in it for the first time and Kowalski just sat there kind of laughing kind of in a huge Wow moment. It was so funny. 😀 One of the best and the weirdest scenes in the whole movie.

Lastly.. I was very surprised by seeing Johnny Depp. I saw in the media that he may be playing Grindewald, but I thought he was considered for the second movie.. but I guess I thought wrong. I would really like to see young Grindewald  – played by Jamie Cambell Bower – just like in the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Wow. This has been a long post, and if you made it to the end – I thank you and I applaud! This movie made me remember childhood and made me emotional and so so excited and it sure made feel the same way any other potterhead and the lover of wizarding world.

Basically, the movie was so much better than I was expecting.

My rating: 10/10

The Butterfly Girl

2 thoughts on “Movie Monday: “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

Leave a Reply

